Drunk driving accidents are not uncommon and while they are more prevalent at night and in the early morning hours they can happen at any time of the day or night. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) reports that every day one life is lost in a drunk driving crash every 50 minutes. Anyone on the road is vulnerable when a drunk or high driver is near.
According to the Mayo Clinic, these are signs that a person exhibits when they have prescription drugs or alcohol in their system:
If you have been hit by a driver that exhibited symptoms consistent with drugs or alcohol, you must tell the police officer who arrives at the accident scene. It is not acceptable to be driving and have alcohol or illicit drugs in your system. The state has a “zero tolerance” policy for this behavior and there are strict penalties if you are under the influence when during an accident.
Arizona has some of the most strict DUI laws in the country. Driving with a BAC of 0.08% is considered a Class 1 misdemeanor. First-time offenders can face fines upwards of $2,500 and jail time up to 360 days. There may also be community service hours and probation associated with penalties.
An Arizona automobile accident injury lawyer at ELG will help you with your personal injury claim when you have been injured in an accident that was not your fault. The bilingual Phoenix serious injury attorneys at ELG have been representing and fighting for Arizonians in countless personal injury cases for decades.
Call our highly experienced team at 623-562-3838 to set up your free consultation at either of our locations in Phoenix and Mesa, Arizona for your convenience.
The summer season is upon us, and with children out of school, visiting friends, and out playing, there are certain dangers that they’re exposed to more so than when they’re...Read More