Arizona requires that seatbelts be used when driving on the road. This is understandable because the statistics relating to the use of a seatbelt are indisputable. Seatbelts have proven to be effective in reducing injuries and saving lives time and time again. They can actually reduce the risk of death and severe injury by 50%, according to the CDC. There are three main seatbelt laws that are important to understand and note if you are driving in the state.
According to the National Highway Safety Administration, there were 37,133 individuals who died as a result of motor vehicle accidents. 47% were not wearing seat belts. Imagine how drastically different the outcome would have been if seatbelts were used. These stats are countrywide, but there are plenty of instances in which seatbelts were not used in Arizona and the results of car accidents without them have been devastating.
The primary seatbelt laws are those that allow a police officer to stop a vehicle and issue a citation purely on the fact that either the driver or the passenger(s) or both were not wearing seatbelts. As far as children go, Arizona is a primary enforcement state, which means that passengers under the age of 16 are considered children and are required to wear a seatbelt. There are also age and height requirements for children to be put in either a booster seat or car seat. Citations for not buckling up can cost you a minimum of $50 per person unrestrained.
These laws are primarily for adult drivers and passengers which are those individuals considered to be over the age of 16. The difference between these secondary laws and those that are primary is the enforcement. In the case of secondary laws, if only adults are in a vehicle and one or some are not restrained, an officer cannot have this as the sole reason for pulling a car over.
A driver can be cited for the lack of restraint if they are pulled over for another traffic violation like running a red light or speeding, for instance. Anyone in a car who is not wearing a seatbelt and is over 16 years of age sitting in the front can be cited individually for the violation when pulled over, meaning the total costs could add up fast. The money collected from these citations goes to the local jurisdiction.
3Young children who are under a certain age and height must be restrained in the proper safety seats, including car seats and booster seats. This safety gear is essential to keeping our little ones safe on the road and can reduce critical injuries to our children by up to 82% when compared to simple seatbelt use by itself.
Arizona is very strict when it comes to regulations that keep children safe, and this includes in the car. All children under the age of 8 and 4’9” tall must be in a safety restraint device. Paying attention to the manufacturer’s specifications as to how to properly install a child safety seat is very important in order to ensure that the seat you are using will be as safe as possible for your child. If you have questions, there are inspection stations that you can find throughout the state to ensure that you have installed your gear correctly. When a child is not restrained in the appropriate manner, this is all that is required for an officer to pull a car over and issue a citation.
When in an accident in the State of Arizona, the use or failure to use proper car restraints can impact your claim. When you have been injured in an automobile accident, you need the experience and resources the Arizona personal injury attorneys at Escamilla Law Group, PLLC. Our team of Phoenix motor vehicle accident attorneys can represent you to the fullest extent and ensure you gain the highest amount of compensation you deserve from your experience. Call us today at 623-562-3838 and speak with one of our Arizona automobile accident injury attorneys at either our Phoenix or Mesa Arizona law offices.
The summer season is upon us, and with children out of school, visiting friends, and out playing, there are certain dangers that they’re exposed to more so than when they’re...Read More