Escamilla Law Group, PLLC.

Call For A Free Consultation

(623) 562-3838

Escamilla Law Group, PLLC.

Passenger Rights After an Auto Accident in Phoenix

Passenger Rights After an Auto Accident in Phoenix

If you’ve been involved in an auto accident, you may have questions about your rights as a passenger. First, it’s important to seek treatment for any injuries you’ve sustained in the auto accident. Remember to protect your rights, even if it means filing a claim against the driver of the vehicle. You may feel guilty about taking action, but keep in mind that it’s not personal.

If you’ve been injured in an auto accident in Arizona, contact the Phoenix auto accident attorneys at the Escamilla Law Group, PLLC. Our team of auto accident lawyers is here to help. We’ve explained your rights as a passenger below and are ready to help with a free consultation.

Fault and Filing Your Claim

Because Arizona is a comparative fault auto accident state, meaning that fault is determined, fault can be shared, and because the at-fault driver(s) is financially responsible for injuries and damages, it’s important to know which driver is at fault. It’s easy to determine fault in a one-vehicle accident, but when more than one driver is involved, it can get complicated. At that point, each driver’s insurance company will investigate and determine the parties at fault.

After the investigation, one driver may be at fault or multiple drivers may be at fault. For example, one driver may be found at 60% fault while another driver may be 40% at fault.

Once fault is determined, you may make a claim against all at-fault drivers. This is why it’s vital to collect each driver’s information at the scene of the accident, including their name, contact information, insurance policy number, vehicle description, and insurance company.

No Insurance?

Per Arizona state law, all motorists must carry a minimum amount of car insurance in case of an auto accident. The minimum requirements include $10,000 for property damage per each accident caused by the insured, $15,000 for the bodily injury or death of one individual caused by the insured, and $30,000 for bodily injury or death for multiple injured people caused by the insured.

But if the driver doesn’t carry insurance, other insurance could apply. If a friend or family member is driving the vehicle, or if the vehicle owner has given the at-fault driver permission to drive their vehicle, the vehicle owner’s liability insurance could cover the auto accident. Another example is if the at-fault driver was operating a company vehicle, as the employer’s insurance could kick in to cover the accident.

If these options aren’t applicable, you may file a medical coverage claim with your own insurance company. An auto accident attorney in Phoenix can also investigate your options.

Auto Accident Attorney in Phoenix, Arizona

Auto accidents are an unfortunate reality of life but being prepared for the aftermath of an accident is important. If you’ve been injured as a passenger in an auto accident, contact our Phoenix auto accident attorneys at Escamilla Law Group, PLLC. Call us at (623) 562-3838 for a no-obligation free consultation and legal representation today.

Avatar

About the Author

Translate »