DUI Laws In ArizonaArizona Legal News
DUIs are not baked into the cake as part of the price of road travel, nowadays, they are considered violent crimes. DUI’s are avoidable and it is the responsibility of each driver to make the choice not to drive while under the influence. Federal, state, and local agencies along with civic groups have been pushing for a change in how DUI’s are looked at and handled so that stronger enforcement can occur and increased deterrents results. The efforts have been paying off as the percentage of alcohol-related crashes has gone down.
Even though public attitudes are changing and more options are available these days for people to get to where they need without driving drunk through services like Uber, for instance, DUI crashes still happen all-too-often. If you have been impacted from a crash at the hands of a reckless and negligent driver, your rights must be protected. A qualified Arizona serious injury attorney from ELG can help you with your personal injury claim and ensure that the liable parties are held responsible for their actions. These are the ways Arizona defines the various levels of DUI in the state.
Misdemeanor DUI Violations in Arizona
- Statutes 4-244.34 explain that anyone under the age of 21 cannot drive a vehicle if they have any alcohol in their system.
- Statutes 28-1381(A)(1) explains that it is illegal for anyone to drive a vehicle if they are impaired to the slightest degree.
- Statutes 28-1381(A)(2) explains that it is illegal for anyone to operate a vehicle if they have a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or higher
- Statutes 28-1381(A)(3) explains that it is illegal to drive if under the influence of any drug as defined in Section 13-3401 which includes cannabis and cocaine.
- Statutes 28-1381(A)(4) explains that it is illegal to drive a commercial vehicle with .04 BAC or higher
- Statutes 28-1382(A)(1) it is illegal to drive under extreme DUI defined as .15-.20 BAC
- Statutes 28-1382(A)(2) it is illegal to drive under super extreme DUI defined as anything over .20
Felony DUI Violations
- Statutes 28-1383(A)(1) defines aggravated driving as doing so as a DUI with a suspended license from a previous DUI
- Statutes 28-1383(A)(2)- defines aggravated driving as doing so with a third or more DUI in 84 months
- Statutes 28-1383(A)(3) – defines aggravated driving as doing so with a DUI and a passenger under the age of 15 in the vehicle
- Statutes 28-1383(A)(4) – defines aggravated driving as doing so in violation of Interlock Requirement
Penalties for DUIs in Arizona
First-time misdemeanor offenders are looking at up to 10 days in jail and a fine of a minimum of $250 as well as a license suspension for 90 days. These penalties increase with subsequent charges and the fines can be upwards of $500 and up to 6 months of jail time. Those that face felony DUI charges could see either a license suspension or revocation. They can see up to 2.5 years in jail and a minimum of $750 in fines.
Contacting an Arizona Personal Injury Lawyer
After an accident that was not your fault, you will be looking at many mounting costs which make the need for you to obtain the highest amount of compensation a priority. The resourceful Phoenix serious injury lawyers at ELG can help you with your personal injury claim.
We will examine your case and fight for your rights. Contact our team of effective Phoenix personal injury attorneys at ELG today at 623-562-3838 to discuss your situation.