A hit-and-run accident, also called a hit-skip collision, occurs when at least one of the parties involved flees the scene. Across the country, hit-and-run accidents are on the rise, especially those involving large trucks. Hit-and-run collisions involving fatalities are also up, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
In fact, there were an estimated 737,100 hit-and-run crashes nationwide in 2015 alone, meaning that a hit-and-run crash happens somewhere in the country every 43 seconds.
Though you can’t always avoid these accidents, knowing the common causes of these hit-and-run collisions can help you stay aware and prepared when you’re on the road. If you’ve sustained injuries in a hit-and-run accident in Arizona, contact the Phoenix accident attorneys at ELG Law. Our team of truck accident lawyers is here to help.
Increased penalties for traffic violations may be to blame in many hit-and-run accidents. For example, if an impaired driver is involved in a crash, they are more likely to flee the scene to avoid the penalty for DUI.
For commercial vehicle and large truck drivers, the consequences for DUI are even more severe than for the average driver. In Arizona, commercial truck drivers with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.04% or more are subject to license suspension for up to 360 days and jail time, as well as costly fines and job loss.
If a driver is on the road illegally, they are more likely to leave the scene of an accident. This may mean that the driver is operating their vehicle without a valid license or without car insurance coverage.
Furthermore, a hit-and-run driver may be in the country illegally or have an active arrest warrant. If a driver is attempting to avoid police, they are more likely to leave the scene. Large truck drivers who will lose their jobs as a result of criminal offenses are even more likely to flee the scene of an accident.
Finally, in rare instances, a driver could be disoriented as a result of head trauma sustained from the auto accident. Disoriented drivers may leave the scene to seek medical attention, or they may not realize that another person was involved in the accident.
However, Arizona has enacted new penalties for those found guilty of hit-and-run to confront the problem. These penalties institute license suspensions depending on the outcome of the crash. If the accident only involved vehicle damage, for example, a hit-and-run driver loses their license for one year. If there was a fatality, the hit-and-run driver loses their license for 10 years.
Victims of hit-and-run accidents often feel helpless or left with few options for legal recourse. Additionally, hit-and-run victims are more likely to suffer financial difficulties or emotional trauma as a result of their wreck.
If you’ve sustained injuries in a hit-and-run accident, contact a lawyer immediately. Our Phoenix truck accident attorneys at ELG Law have years of experience when it comes to fighting for victims and their families after a wreck. Call us at (623) 562-3838 for a free consultation and legal representation today.
The summer season is upon us, and with children out of school, visiting friends, and out playing, there are certain dangers that they’re exposed to more so than when they’re...Read More